P90X – day02

Hi,

Who here feels like they have been run over by a truck when the rolled out of bed, eh? That just means that I did push myself hard enough last night.

Well then, lets get down and dirty. Let’s take a look at what I did today. Click on the thumbnails to get to my Flickr account and see them pictures in a higher resolution.

Thats kind of a 02, right?

That's kind of a 02, right?

Nutrition:

breakfast:
1 multivitamin
1 creatine pill
1 protein shake

how to prepare:
– 1 cup skim milk, 1.5 scoops protein powder, 1 cup berries, 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup ice
– blend until smooth
protein shake: done

notes:
I used 2 scoops of protein powder, used 1 cup of frozen fruits, didn’t have a banana so I skipped that, added half a cup of Danone Activia Fibre. That’s how I always make my protein shakes, and they are super delicious. No really, smoothie galore. It’s like a party in my mouth and everyone is invited, well everyone but Tom Green. I hope I don’t alienate Tom Green fans now from this blog. Fine, he is invited also for the next smoothie party in my mouth.

Picture of breakfast:
IMG_0025

snack:
1 protein bar
notes:
since i don’t have protein bars I substitute it with 1 granola bar and an apple.

lunch:
1 shrimp stir-fry
1 tbsp sesame seeds
1 oz cashew

how to prepare:
– 8 ounces shrimp, 1/2 tbsp soy sauce, 3/4 teaspoon rice vinegar, 1/2 cup fat free chicken broth, 1/2 teaspoon garlic, 1/2 teaspoon ginger, 3/4 red onion, 3/4 cup broccoli, 1.5 snow peas, 1-3/4 cups mushrooms, 1/2 yellow bell peper, 1/2 cup canned water chestnuts
– heat soy sauce, rice vinegar, garlic, ginger and veggies
– add shrimps
shrimp stir-fry: done

notes:
I am not going to lie, I didn’t have any shrimps at home. So I just used the fish from last night, 8 ounces of haddock to substitute. I also have no idea what water chestnuts are, I also don’t have rice vinegar and I don’t use broth of any kind. So what I did I tossed all the ingredients together in a pan, use my light soy sauce and some peanut oil, put all the veggies in there and the fish, as it was already precooked from last night and drizzle a bit of low calorie balsamic vinegrete into it to make up for the lack of rice vinegar. I then proceeded to sprinkle the sesame seeds on the plated dish and put the cashew nuts on the side of the plate. Not trying to pat my own back here, but if that dish was any better I might just have to pat myself on the back.

Picture of lunch:
IMG_0029

snack:
3 oz string cheese

notes:
What the heck is string cheese? Cheese cut in pieces? I sure hope so, used 1.5 oz of mozzarella and 1.5 oz of cheddar cheese instead. That probably saved me a buck or two. That would make Suze Orman proud!

Why would she deny a MacBook?

Why would she deny a MacBook?

dinner:
8 oz turkey
3 tbsp gravy
1 cup green beans
2 cups butternut squash soup
2 tbs protein powder

how to prepare:
– 1 tablespoon shallots, 1 garlic clove, 3 cups butternut sqaush, 1/2 cup fat free chicken broth
– sauté shallots, garlic
– add chicken, broth
– simmer for 25 mins
– blend
– season
butternut squash soup: done

notes:
Where to start with this one. I don’t think I had any of those ingredients. So instead of turkey I used chicken, no gravy, I used thai sauce and asian hot sauce, green beans you say? I counter you with half regular peas and half edamame. Butternut sqaush soup, sorry no dice. I just used left overs from last night, and yes the red pepper soup did not mellow out at all. At least no tears this time. Still was a freaking awesome dinner taste wise. Drink was water mixed with some protein powder. Looks like really dirty water.

Picture of dinner:
IMG_0031

Post workout:
Recovery drink

Before going to bed:
1 multivitamin
1 creatine pill

Workout:

Day 02 means it’s Plyometrics day. Let me quote you Justin on what he thinks about doing plyometrics, he did plyo a few times, so I asked if he wanted to join me tonight (sounds hot) and he responded with “F**k that s**t”. Plyo is the mother of all workouts and targets the cardiovascular endurance, which is “the ability of the heart to provide oxygen to muscles during physical activity for a prolonged period of time” (read this for more info about cardiovascular endurance). I really could tell that it’s been 2 weeks or more since my last plyo workout. Ugh, it was a bit rough, but I suppose the program is 90 days long, so I just stuck with it and completed. Rome wasn’t built in one day after all.

Ok so here is the lowdown on Plyo, there are 4 excercises per set, you do 5 sets, and there is a bonus set. Set 1 to 5 you do back to back, that means you do 1, 1, 2, 2, 3, 3, 4, 4, 5, 5, 6. The first 3 excercises in set 1 – 5 last 30 secs the last ones last 60 secs. Set 6 is 60 secs each. You can do anything for 30 secs, right? Here is a list of the excersises in proper order:

  1. Jump squat, run stance squat, airborne heisman, swing kick
  2. Squat reach jump, run stance squat switch  pick-up, double airborne heisman, circle run
  3. Jump knee tuck,  Mary Katherine lunge, leapfrog squat, twist combo
  4. Rock star hop, gap jump, squat jack, military march
  5. Run squat 180 jump switch, lateral leapfrog, monster truck tire, hot foot
  6. Bonus round: pitch & catch, jump shot, football hero

So yeah that’s what plyo is all about, not only will you legs burn, not only will you sweat as if you were in a sauna, no your lungs will be pumping and gasping for air. It’s lovely really. This is also where your nutrition kicks in, if you don’t eat properly you will boink out here, getting dizzy and just not having enough energy to sustain this workout.

simon says, spare me your life story

simon says, spare me your life story

P90X Day 02: done

Feel free to leave some comments, questions and suggestions. Feel free to use the top menu to navigate our blog for older posts regarding P90X, Apple/Mac, Marketing, Internet, WoW. Please spread the news about this little blog and feel free to hit that digg button.

WJ

5 Responses to P90X – day02

  1. Hussein says:

    I tried to do just the Plyometrics since I didn’t have any other equipment, I just burnt out after 10 minutes. Intense stuff for sure.

  2. Wendy says:

    Fantastic writing…
    Why would she deny a macbook? Oh Suze it’s macbook first then people then money thing things…..

  3. germanboy3383 says:

    @ Hussein:
    sorry to hear that you are lacking all equipment. 😦
    you could do plyo, yoga, kenpo and stretch, the only tool you need for those is your game face and the rest of your body 🙂

    @ Wendy:
    Suze is such a menie sometimes…

  4. machoman says:

    thank you! I really liked this post!

  5. teinby says:

    thank you! I really liked this post!

Leave a Reply

