P90X – day08

Hi,

again sorry for the late post, I had a late night discussion with my friend Justin about whether or not super rich people (billionaires) have (health) insurance. How to win an argument of which neither side can find proper proof?

no winners in this picture

no winners in this picture

Well then, remember at the end of day07, I was contemplating dropping down to food level 1 and as I woke up I got the nutrition guide, a pen, a paper, and a calculator and started to figure out what weight I would have to be to fall back into level 1, turns out I would have to be 150 pounds. Was a bit surprised, then I had to double check how much I weight after my first week just to get my bearings right, so turns out I lost 3 to 4 pounds. So, I guess I will stay at level 2 then.

Well then, lets get down and dirty. Let’s take a look at what I did yesterday. Click on the thumbnails to get to my Flickr account and see them pictures in a higher resolution.

what does future have in store for me? Ask again later? wtf?

what does future have in store for me?

Nutrition:

breakfast:
1 multivitamin
1 creatine pill
1 Mushroom omelet
1 cup fresh strawberries
12 oz cottage cheese (1%)

how to prepare:
– 8 egg whites, salt, pepper, 3/4 cup mushrooms, 1/2 roma tomato, 3 ounces low fat cheddar cheese
– beat egg whites silly, season
– pan medium heat, cook veggies
-add eggs until set, add cheese
Mushroom omelet: done

notes:
As you can see, I didn’t eat the cottage cheese, me and cottage cheese will never be friends, so I will only eat that twice per week as the snack in the afternoon.

Picture of breakfast:
IMG_0065

snack:
1 protein bar
notes:
since i don’t have protein bars I substitute it with 1 granola bar and an apple

lunch:
1 chef salad

how to prepare:
– 4 ounces fat free turkey, 4 ounces ham, 3 ounces fat free mozzarella cheese, 1/2 roma tomato, 2 cups romaine letuce, 1/4 cup hearts of palm, 1 ounce avocado, 3 tablespoons low fat ranch dressing
– toss ingredients in bowl
– add dressing
chef salad: done

notes:
Weeeee, I actually had all of the ingredients this time, well besides the hearts of palm, and low fat ranch dressing. This time around it tasted awesome, thank god I didn’t have to experiment with tofu this week as compared to last weeks debacle. I forgot if I used any sauce at all, I remember squirting in a tat of lime juice though. If I did use any sort of dressing it would have been the low calorie caesar or balsamic dressing but I doubt that I used any of those.

Picture of lunch:
IMG_0067

snack:
30 pistachios

dinner:
8 oz salmon
3 tbsp lemon dill sauce
1 cup asparagus
1 cup wild rice
2 cups red pepper soup
2 tbs protein powder

how to prepare:
– 1/2 cup shallots, 2 cups white whine, 2 tablespoons arrowroot, 2 cups fat free chicken broth, 6 tablespoons lemon juice, 1 teaspoon lemon grass, 1 tablespoon fresh dill
– sauté shallots
– dissolve arrowroot in 1/2 cup of broth
– add wine to shallots
– reduce by half
– add rest of broth
– reduce by half
– add arrowroot
– blend and puree
– add lemon juice, lemongrass
– simmer for 30 minutes
– strain
lemon dill sauce: done

notes:
Last week I showed you how to prepare the red pepper soup, this week I showed you how to make the lemon dill sauce. I used my thai sauce since I can’t bother time/ingredients/money wise to cook most of these sauces. And by thai sauce I don’t mean that horrid lemon sauce, but rather the sweet thai sauce, I use it sparsely. I used the last bits from my ‘red gazpepper’ soup. The asparagus I flash fried with garlic and the least amount of olive oil for about 1 minute. The meal was delicious. Fish wise, I used the rest of my salmon from last week and some haddock to fill me up 8 ounces. Again, 1 scoop of protein powder in my water.

Picture of dinner:
IMG_0068

Post workout:
Recovery drink

Before going to bed:
1 multivitamin
1 creatine pill

Workout:

Day 08 means it’s Chest and Back day followed by Ab Ripper X. I had a good feeling going into the workout, with the lose of moderate weight already in place and knowing that I didn’t push myself to 110% last week, I knew I could pump out some nice improved numbers. I was happy to add 3 or 5 more pushups to most pushup exercises, and I added 5 more pounds to the weights. Pullups I hate, I suck at them, so i focused on clean form for them and reduce chair help as much as possible, ie push a bit upwards, step off the chair and do unassisted pulldown basically.
Here is a list of the excersises in proper order:

  1. standard push ups
  2. wide front pull ups
  3. military push ups
  4. reverse grip pull ups
  5. wide fly push ups
  6. close grip overhand pull ups
  7. decline push ups
  8. heavy pants
  9. diamond push ups
  10. lawnmowers
  11. dive bombers
  12. back flys

You do these 12 excersies then you repeat it all over again, this is what seperates the men from the boys. But this time instead of going 1, 2, 3, etc you will go 2, 1, 4, 3, 6, 5, 8, 7, 10, 9, 12, 11. Easy…not.

You round Day 08 off with a nice thing called Ab Ripper X.

Here is the low down, it’s freaking hard, and it’s super discouraging, when Tony and his gang pump out 25 reps of various excercises but you know, in about 4 to 6 weeks you will be able to compete with them. Here is a list of the excersises in proper order:

  1. In and Outs
  2. Bicycle
  3. Reverse Bicycle
  4. Crunchy Frog
  5. Fifer Scissors
  6. Hip Rock and Raise
  7. Pulse-ups/Heels to Heaven
  8. V-up roll ups
  9. Obliques
  10. Leg climbs
  11. Mason twist

Yeah it’s a real delicious workout. But if you want them 6 packs or even 8 packs this is the way to go. ‘I hate it, but I love it’.

All in all I had an ok feeling doing my chest and back routine. I saw some improvements and I am thinking about even putting more weights on my dumbbells, 40 pounds per. Problem would arise from the seated back flys though, since those I should only be able to do 35 pounds with, and my second pair of dumbbells only has 30 pounds of weight on them. Le sigh. Ab ripper didn’t kick my butt that hard, this is a fear I have. Am I doing them properly? Gotta be very conscious about the whole routine, each rep matters.

needs more weight

needs more weight

P90X Day 08: done

Feel free to leave some comments, questions and suggestions. Feel free to use the top menu to navigate our blog for older posts regarding P90X, Apple/Mac, Marketing, Internet, WoW. Please spread the news about this little blog and feel free to hit that digg button.

WJ

3 Responses to P90X – day08

  1. Jerry says:

    Just a suggestion, if you feel separating the eggs might be a bit of a hassle, try using EggBeaters. EggBeaters have both white and yellow. I use yellow. You would think they were real eggs and it makes a great omelet. Keep pushing play! I managed to lose 11 pounds my first week. But, I was 235 with 22.9%bf, so I had it to lose. Starting Week 2, Day 1 this evening.

    • germanboy3383 says:

      Hi Jerry,

      I will keep my eyes open for that product next time I go shopping 🙂
      Thanks for the tip.

      wj

  2. That salmon looks really good.

Leave a Reply

