P90X – day12, 13, 14

Hi,

So apparently I was out of town and I was naughty. Well not truly naughty but naughty enough to wonder how much of an impact ‘it’ had.

at least I wasnt this naughty

at least I wasn't that naughty

So, I was out of town so I managed to not upload days 12, 13 and 14, all three days will be covered in this post.

if you can read this you are not color blind

if you can read this you are not color blind

go leafs go

go leafs go

random

random

Well then, let’s take a look at what I did on the weekend. Click on the thumbnails to get to my Flickr account and see them pictures in a higher resolution

Nutrition:

breakfast:
1 multivitamin
1 creatine pill
1 spinach scramble
12 oz skim milk
1 grapefruit

how to prepare:
– 1/2 cup roma tomato, 1 cup spinach leave, 8 egg whites, 3 ounces feta cheese, 1 tablespoon fresh basil
– saute tomatoes, spinach
– add beaten egg whites
– add cheese
spinach scramble: done

notes:
I used regular tomatoes and instead of feta cheese I used 2.5 ounces mozzarella cheese, I used 1 spoon of protein powder in my milk, to fight my racist gag reflex.

Picture of breakfast:
IMG_0094

snack:
1 protein bar
notes:
since i don’t have protein bars I substitute it with 1 granola bar and an apple.

lunch:
8 oz turkey burger
3 oz low fat swiss cheese
1 cup coleslaw
2 cups gazpacho
2 tbsp protein powder

how to prepare:
– 8 ounces ground turkey breast, 2 tablespoons sourdough bread crumbs, 4 tablespoons low-fat buttermilk, 3 teaspoons green onions, 3 teaspoons parsley, 1/2 teaspoon dijon mustard, 2 dashes worcestershire sauce, 2 dashes black pepper
– preheat grill/broiler
– toss ingredients
– grill until cooked
turkey burger: done

notes:
Ok, unlike last week I made the turkey burger from scratch. I didn’t use buttermilk, just regular milk, and we don’t have a grill or broiler so the whole thing was just made in a teflon pan, this was my first attempt ever to make a burger patty. It was a bit messy, it never really held its form because I don’t think I compacted it hard enough. So in the end it kind of fell apart on serving but that didn’t really matter. I used mozzarella cheese instead of the swiss cheese. Instead of the coleslaw I used 4 napa cabbage leaves to be used as the breading, ie I stuffed the paddy in between 2 leaves. On the picture you can see 1 of the 2 ‘burgers’ uncovered as the other leaf is covering the other burger. Ok, now how would I rate this concoction? Eating it was a disaster, it was pretty messy, maybe there is a reason not to use napa cabage but oh my god was that ever delicious. It just worked, flavour and texture wise, they both seemed to work to go hand in hand. It was a giant love feast in my mouth to say the least.

this cat contains 50% less cuteness than me

this cat contains 50% less cuteness than me

Picture of lunch:
IMG_0097

snack:
12 oz cottage cheese, 1%

notes:
Cottage cheese, these 2 words shouldn’t go together. One is a nice place where you spend time with your friends and family for vacation. The other is just a delicious food. How come when you combine both words can something so disgusting come out of it? Makes no sense to me:

had cottage cheese

had cottage cheese

dinner:
8 oz swordfish
3 tbsp mango ginger sauce
1 cup wild rice
1 artichoke

how to prepare:
– invest in a decent mango ginger sauce or health alternative
mango ginger sauce: done

notes:
So, as we had no food supplies this meal was a bit tricky to pull off. We had no fish at home, only thing we had left was some minced turkey ground meat, and some tofu. If you think just like me then f**k yeah, of course I made another burger paddy. This time I mixed in some tofu too. This time I used a bowl and gave it a better shot. And instead of artichoke I used the left over broccoli. Drizzled a bit of sweet thai sauce on it and good to go. Although less satisfying than lunch this was still amazing.

Picture of dinner:
IMG_0099

Post workout:
Recovery drink

Before going to bed:
1 multivitamin
1 creatine pill

Workout:

Day 12 means legs and back day which is rounded off with ab ripper x. For this workout, you will need the pullup bar, a chair, and weights/resistance bands. I think this is my favorite workout as I seem to outperform Tony and the gang on several leg exercises. Also, I tend to sweat a bucket load in this workout, I am tending to think that is because you work on your leg muscles which contain the biggest muscles in your body. Ironically the smallest muscle is also located there.

There are no sets. Proper form is important, there are alternatives to the pull ups with use of chair or resistance bands, people have problems with the wall squats, cheat a little, do the best you can, progress will come over time. Here is a list of the excersises in proper order:

  1. balance lunge
  2. calf raise squat
  3. reverse grip chin up
  4. super skater
  5. wall squat
  6. wide front pull up
  7. step back lunge
  8. alternating side lunge
  9. closed grip overhand pull up
  10. single leg wall squat
  11. deadlift squat
  12. switch grip pull up
  13. three way lunge with two kick option
  14. sneaky lunge
  15. reverse grip chin up
  16. chair salutations
  17. toe roll iso lunge
  18. wide front pull up
  19. Groucho walk
  20. calf raises
  21. closed grip overhand pull up
  22. 80/20 cyber speed squat
  23. switch grip pull up

You round Day 12 off with a nice thing called Ab Ripper X, which by now I am sure you fell in love with, right?

Here is a list of the exercises of ab ripper x in proper order:

in and outs
bicycle
reverse bicycle
crunchy frog
fifer scissors
hip rock and raise
pulse-ups
V-up roll ups
obliques
leg climbs
mason twist

I am trying to keep my back straight, not have a round back. That makes the exercise harder, everyone can do it with bad form, good form is important. Last ab ripper x for this week, enjoy your well deserved shower and recovery drink.

that makes sense

that makes sense

P90X Day 12: done

So, we had to get up really early on saturday to catch the bus to get to my girlfriend’s parents house as we had an appointment to pick up a new car. So I managed to get about 4 or 5 hours of sleep, after legs and back day with some ab ripper. Unheard of. I needs my rest 😦 Let’s see how day 13 unfolded.

Nutrition:

breakfast:
1 multivitamin
1 creatine pill
1 protein shake

how to prepare:
– 1 cup skim milk, 1.5 scoops protein powder, 1 cup berries, 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup ice
– blend until smooth
protein shake: done

notes:
I used 2 scoops of protein powder, used 1 cup of frozen fruits, added half a cup of Danone Activia Fibre. That’s how I always make my protein shakes, and they are super delicious. By the way, the picture is a bit dark as it is still dark outside, did the sun even rise? Yawn.

Picture of breakfast:
IMG_0100

snack:
1 protein bar
notes:
since i don’t have protein bars I substitute it with 1 granola bar and an apple. Mmmm, apple and protein bar on a public bus. Delicious.

lunch:
1 island pork tenderloin salad

how to prepare:
– 16 ounces por tenderloin, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, 1/2 teaspoon chile powder, 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 2 teaspoons olive oil, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tablespoon fresh garlic, 1/2 tabelspoon tabasco sauce
– preheat oven to 350 degrees
– stir salt, pepper, cumin, chile powder, cinnamon
– coat pork
– heat skilled, brown pork
– top rest of ingredients on pork
– cook in oven for 20 minutes
island pork tenderloin: done

notes:
As we had to eat lunch at my girlfriend’s parents house I already prepared the tenderloin the night before and we just took with us the little delicious pig wrapped in foil to keep it fresh. At the house I could only manage to make a very basic salad, ie salad greens half a tomatoe, half an onion and the low calorie balsamic vinaigrette. Gotta adjust right. Pork was still moist and soft and delicious as ever.

Picture of lunch:
IMG_0104

snack:
2 oz turkey jerky

notes:
I had 3 pieces of turkey bacon that we took with us.

dinner:
1 beef & broccoli stir fry
2 cups miso soup
2 tbsp protein powder

how to prepare:
– 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1/2 red onion, 1 tablespoon garlic, 1-1/2 pound sirloin steak, 1 tablespoon sesame oil, 2 tablespoons rice vinegar, 1 tablespoon ginger, 4 cups broccoli, 8 ounces dried soba noodles
– sauté onions and garlic in soy sauce
– add beef
– add oil, vinegar, ginger
– blanch broccoli
– prepare soba noodles
– serve
beef & broccoli stir fry: done

notes:
Ok, well I wasn’t going to cook any of that, so I just ate what was served that night. Which was a steak, delicious, and salad without dressing, 1/2 portobello mushroom. 1 scoop of protein powder in zee water.

Picture of dinner:

full of proteins

full of proteins

I didn’t manage to take a pic of the actual diner that night. Brainfart? The ruling is still out on that.

Post workout:
Recovery drink

Before going to bed:
1 multivitamin
1 creatine pill

Workout:

Day 13 means working on your cardiovascular endurance. You will do kenpo x…

I TOOK A NAP AFTER DINER ONLY TO WAKE UP THE NEXT MORNING AT 430 AM…WTF!?!??!?!?!?

W

W

T

T

F

F

So I have missed kenpo X, great. Day 14 starts with this bombshell.

Nutrition:

breakfast:
1 multivitamin
1 creatine pill
3 slices turkey bacon
1 cheese scramble
12 oz skim milk
1/4 cantaloupe

how to prepare:
– 8 whole egg whites, 3 tablespoons skim milk, 3 ounces mozzarella cheese
– just make it happen
cheese scramble: done

notes:
I used 3 ounce of low fat mozzarella, no milk, added a scoop of protein powder to my milk so I don’t gag on the white milk. Maybe my gag reflex is a racist? No cantaloupe means I had to use a peach. Wasn’t ripe though, but who cares, real men eat no ripe fruits.

not ripe, so what?

not ripe, so what?

Picture of breakfast:
IMG_0109

snack:
1 protein bar
notes:
since i don’t have protein bars I substitute it with 1 granola bar and an apple. Had to postpone my snack until after we drove back our new car and stuffed our fridge with goodies for the rest of the month (fingers crossed).

lunch:
1 tuna salad
3 cups salad greens
2 cups cucumber soup

how to prepare:
– 8 ounces tuna, 1 ounce low fat mayonnaise, 3/4 teaspoons lemon zest, squeeze of lemon, 2 tablespoons carrots, 2 tablespoons celery, 2 tablespoons green onion, 1-1/2 teaspoons celery seeds
– mix ingredients thoroughly
tuna salad: done

notes:
Soup used was my fantastic red bell pepper stuff soup, mmmmm. The white stuff on the salad is a low calorie caesar dressing, looks a bit like jizz, doesn’t it? The red stuff on top of that jizz, i beg your pardon, dressing is Tabasco.

Picture of lunch:
IMG_0113

snack:
12 oz cottage cheese, 1%

notes:
I am soooo getting sick of cottage cheese. I wish it would just die 😦

dinner:
8 oz lemon garlic chicken
1 cup wild rice
2 cups asparagus soup
2 tbsp protein powder

how to prepare:
– 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, 2 tablespoons molasses, 2 teaspoons worcestershire sauce, 4 garlic cloves, 2 pounds boneless chicken, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, lemon wedges, parsley
– combine first 4 ingredients
– marinate for 1 hour in fridge
– back at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, bast occasionally
– back another 20 minutes without basting
lemon garlic chicken: done

notes:
Red pepper soup, no protein powder since I didn’t work out.

Picture of dinner:
IMG_0115

WoW, day 12, 13 and 14 are now done. I feel a tat guilty not having done kenpo x, but my body just needed the recovery/sleep.

Oh by the way, if you are curious to know what car we bought, here is a hint Zoom Zoom:

IMG_0101

IMG_0107

That’s a 2010 Mazda3 Sport. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Sorry again for the belated post, I am really trying to figure out how I will cope with all the stress and limited time come college start.

Feel free to leave some comments, questions and suggestions. Feel free to use the top menu to navigate our blog for older posts regarding P90X, Apple/Mac, Marketing, Internet, WoW. Please spread the news about this little blog and feel free to hit that digg button.

WJ

4 Responses to P90X – day12, 13, 14

  1. Dustin Stout says:

    Hey, what is the recipe you use for the red bell pepper soup? Looks good!

  2. Great job on showing what you are eating. Sometimes people do not realize how important it is to follow the nutrition plan when they are doing P90X. Want great results? Then you have to “Bring It” and follow the nutrition plan.

  3. feistyfitness says:

    Hey that’s awesome. I like that you’re showing what you’re eating. I’ve seen other P90X progress blogs that didn’t.

    I’m on Day 5…Day 6 tomorrow

    check mine out, let’s get a community of P90xs going and encourage each other to stick with it

    P.S. My body is NOT happy with yogaX

  4. best protein for women…

    […]P90X – day12, 13, 14 « . : branded.brains : .[…]…

Leave a Reply

